Sunday, January 12, 2020



SUN JAN 12, 2020 - CW 7 PM EST

The Critics Choice Awards, hosted by Taye Diggs, will be broadcast tonight (1/12/20) at 7 PM EST on CW (WPIX Channel 11 in some locations).

The dinner (for attendees, not necessarily for viewers) will consist of plant based food.

Together with the nominees and winners of the Golden Globes, this makes a good starting list for the most interesting films of 2019.  The Academy Award nominations will be announced on Jan 13, 2020, early in the morning. The AA presentations will be held on Sunday, Feb 9.

Here are the nominees & winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Eddie Murphy
SeeHer Award: Kristen Bell

Best Picture
Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Uncut Gems

Best Animated Feature
Frozen II
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
I Lost My Body
Missing Link
Toy Story 4

Best Action Movie
Avengers: Endgame
Ford v Ferrari
John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum
Spider-Man: Far From Home

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie
Ad Astra
Avengers: Endgame

Best Comedy
Dolemite Is My Name
The Farewell
Jojo Rabbit
Knives Out

Best Foreign Language Film
Atlantics • Senegal
Les Misérables • France
Pain and Glory • Spain
Parasite • South Korea
Portrait of a Lady on Fire • France

Best Director
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Bong Joon-ho – Parasite
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Sam Mendes – 1917
Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory as Salvador Mallo
Robert De Niro – The Irishman as Frank Sheeran
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood as Rick Dalton
Adam Driver – Marriage Story as Charlie Barber
Eddie Murphy – Dolemite Is My Name as Rudy Ray Moore
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker as Arthur Fleck / Joker
Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems as Howard Ratner

Best Actress
Awkwafina – The Farewell as Billi Wang
Cynthia Erivo – Harriet as Harriet Tubman
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story as Nicole Barber
Lupita Nyong'o – Us as Adelaide Wilson / Red
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women as Josephine "Jo" March
Charlize Theron – Bombshell as Megyn Kelly
Renée Zellweger – Judy as Judy Garland

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse as Thomas Wake
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood as Fred Rogers
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes as Pope Benedict XVI
Al Pacino – The Irishman as Jimmy Hoffa
Joe Pesci – The Irishman as Russell Bufalino
Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood as Cliff Booth

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern – Marriage Story as Nora Fanshaw
Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit as Rosie Betzler
Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers as Ramona Vega
Florence Pugh – Little Women as Amy March
Margot Robbie – Bombshell as Kayla Pospisil
Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell as Nai Nai

Best Young Actor/Actress
Julia Butters – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood as Trudi Fraser
Roman Griffin Davis – Jojo Rabbit as Jojo Betzler
Shahadi Wright Joseph – Us as Zora Wilson / Umbrae
Noah Jupe – Honey Boy as Young Otis Lort
Thomasin McKenzie – Jojo Rabbit as Elsa Korr
Archie Yates – Jojo Rabbit as Yorki

Best Acting Ensemble
The Irishman
Knives Out
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Original Screenplay
Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story
Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won – Parasite
Rian Johnson – Knives Out
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Lulu Wang – The Farewell

Best Adapted Screenplay
Micah Fitzerman-Blue and Noah Harpster – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Greta Gerwig – Little Women
Anthony McCarten – The Two Popes
Todd Phillips and Scott Silver – Joker
Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit
Steven Zaillian – The Irishman

Best Cinematography
Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse
Roger Deakins – 1917
Phedon Papamichael – Ford v Ferrari
Rodrigo Prieto – The Irishman
Robert Richardson – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Lawrence Sher – Joker

Best Production Design
Mark Friedberg and Kris Moran – Joker
Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales – 1917
Jess Gonchor and Claire Kaufman – Little Women
Lee Ha-jun – Parasite
Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Bob Shaw and Regina Graves – The Irishman
Donal Woods and Gina Cromwell – Downton Abbey

Best Editing
Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems
Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker – Ford v Ferrari
Yang Jin-mo – Parasite
Fred Raskin – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Thelma Schoonmaker – The Irishman
Lee Smith – 1917

Best Costume Design
Ruth E. Carter – Dolemite Is My Name
Julian Day – Rocketman
Jacqueline Durran – Little Women
Arianne Phillips – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson – The Irishman
Anna Robbins – Downton Abbey

Best Hair and Makeup
Dolemite Is My Name
The Irishman
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Visual Effects
Ad Astra
The Aeronauts
Avengers: Endgame
Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman
The Lion King

Best Score
Michael Abels – Us
Alexandre Desplat – Little Women
Hildur Guðnadóttir – Joker
Randy Newman – Marriage Story
Thomas Newman – 1917
Robbie Robertson – The Irishman

Best Song
"Glasgow (No Place Like Home)" – Wild Rose
"(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again" – Rocketman
"I'm Standing With You" – Breakthrough
"Into the Unknown" – Frozen II
"Speechless" – Aladdin
"Spirit" – The Lion King
"Stand Up" – Harriet

Also, for TV

Best Talk Show: Corden & Seth Meyers (tie)
Best Drama Series: Succession
Best Comedy Series: Fleabag
Best Animated Series: Bojack
Best Comedy Special: Norman Lear
Best Limited Series: When They See Us
Best Movie made for TV: El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie
Best Actress in a Series - Comedy: Phoebe Waller-Bridge
Best Actor in a Series - Comedy: Bill Hader
Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Andrew Scott
Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Alex Borstein 
Best Actress in a Limited Series - Drama: Michelle Williams
Best Actor in a Limited Series - Jharrel Jerome
Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Billy Crudup
Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Jean Smart

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?


    follow me on Twitter

    QPORIT --
    Quick PREVIEWS Of Random Interesting Things

    (c) Copyright 2005-2009 Eric H. Roffman
    All rights reserved